(An Anti-Stoic Poem)

Why would we want eternity?
If we can live today my dear?
Lonely nights and happy days
Better than endless pains
But if you wish to escape time
Then you’re avoiding how to live
Why would you want eternity?
If you can be with me today?
I’m sure I’ll stay until you’re there
Not until our time’s prepared
‘Til your last breath, I’ll not evade
Don’t be afraid, embrace the pain
For it will bring you joyful days
Why would I want eternity?
If I can live with you and pain?
You understand me, that’s enough
And I’ll forget not time but my name
Life’s not forever, but today
I’ll not forget our cheerful plays
So long you’ll stay with me each day
Why would we want eternity?
If we can live today my dear?

Leave a Reply

