Stay in Sanitas

Confined in the forest where
Trees grow to keep the sun’s
Light away and deprive me
To see something aside from
Darkness and solitude.

I want to cut down these tall
Trees but I don’t have an ax
To make them bow down and quit
From making me crazy in this
Forest they created and called Sanitas.

Thinking about time is the only
Leisure I can offer myself because
Time is unknown here and what I don’t
Know will not hurt me and what I don’t
Know will make me alive.

I’m imprisoned in a place where
Struggling means life and where
Loneliness is both prize and torture—
Prize because no one can hurt me,
Torture because I can hurt myself.

Leave a Reply

